The International Students and Scholars office and Education Abroad office are in their new location in the Student Services Building, 2nd Floor.

Congratulations to the Winners of the 2023 SafeAbroad Awards!

The SafeAbroad Awards recognize excellence in International Education
2023 Innovator of the Year Award - LaSharon McLean Perez
LaSharon McLean Perez

SafeAbroad, a leading advocate for safety and risk assessment for students studying abroad, presented the 2023 Safety Abroad Summit virtually on September 14, 2023.  The Summit focused on health, safety, security, and risk management for international education.

As the number of students pursuing educational opportunities overseas continues to grow, ensuring their safety and well-being during their time abroad has become a paramount concern. The conference aims to address this critical issue by bringing together renowned experts, educators, and industry professionals to exchange knowledge, best practices, and innovative strategies.

The conference featured a keynote presentation, panel discussions, interactive workshops, and networking opportunities, covering various aspects of student safety during study abroad programs.  The awards portion of the Summit recognized excellence in International Education.  There were many truly impressive nominations for this year's awards.  Notably, LaSharon McLean Perez won Innovator of the Year:

The Innovator of the Year is awarded to a trailblazing individual or team who uses technology, analytics, and/or intelligence to enrich their institution’s safety and risk management programs.

In the realm of innovation and forward-thinking initiatives, we are thrilled to present the "Innovator of the Year" award to an individual who has truly redefined the landscape of student safety in international education. This individual has worked tirelessly to establish partnerships and initiatives aimed at keeping students informed of potential risks and threats while abroad. They have taken the latest intelligence reports and advisories and transformed them into "Mama Bear Check-Ins," ensuring the safety and well-being of all students during their travels. Each email also includes a Student Program Evaluation Form to assess crucial student issues and identify areas for development and improvement.

Furthermore, this innovator has gone above and beyond by expanding existing pre-departure materials. Collaborating with external partners, they have provided a Global Safety Briefing and Country Pre-Departure Briefing Sheets, creating a comprehensive safety net for departing students. This commitment ensures that students are well-prepared for their international adventures, equipped with the knowledge they need to navigate potential challenges.

But the impact of this remarkable individual extends beyond their home institution. They actively participate in State-wide Risk Management weekly calls, elevating their knowledge and bringing valuable insights back to their colleagues and peers.

In recognition of their groundbreaking contributions to the enhancement of student safety, education, and risk management, it is our distinct honor to present the "Innovator of the Year" award to LaSharon McLean Perez. Your dedication and innovative spirit have truly set you apart, making a lasting impact on the field of international education. Congratulations!




Let us help you with your search